Schindler’s list

is such a wonderful movie. It makes me cry throughout and sometimes smile through the tears. Needless to say it is one of my favorites. I wonder how such people exist, people like Schindler, and still the world be so bad? My favorite scene is when he yells at his accountant that he doesn’t want to spend any more money and that he’ll go back to Czech and run his business, and that his business is more important. But at home he packs all the money he has and comes back the next day to make his “LIST”. A person clearly torn between what he really wants to do and what he thinks he should do at that time. He finally chooses to do what he really wants, which turns out to be the best thing he would’ve done given the big picture. Isn’t that what we have to do? I sometimes feel I am missing the whole point by being so short-sighted (not really talking about me actually being myopic). But somehow I am not able to find out what I really want to do. May be because I don’t have two choices in front of me. May be because I’ll have to think up the choices for myself. May be because we are not at war. Or may be because we are, and we don’t know.

All this phisolophical blabber is the result of watching Schindler’s list on a dull summer Sunday evening for a second time, making myself cry my heart out. Not because I understood what all happened at that point of time. I still don’t. I just don’t have words to explain what I feel.

And I didn’t understand the complicated Deutsch that they speak in that movie. Can’t they be a little slower? I was pausing and trying to understand what they say, all in vain. To be doing a course doesn’t really help.

It is simply a wonderful movie. Catch it if you still haven’t. It belongs to the genre of Cult Classic. And deservedly so for being so powerful.

I leave you with a few quotes from the movie.

- Power is when we have every justification to kill, and we don’t.
– In every business I tried, I can see now, it wasn’t me that failed. Something was missing. Even if I’d known what it was, there’s nothing I could have done about it because you can’t create this thing. And it makes all the difference in the world between success and failure.
– There are fewer than 4000 Jews left alive in Poland today. There are more than 6000 descendants of the Schindler Jews.

Thats a life worth living, I’d say.

4 thoughts on “Schindler’s list

Share your thoughts

