Rain rain don’t go away

It’s raining daily. Yesterday it rained cats and dogs, complete with lightning and thunderbolts. I was too excited and in my excitement hopped on the stairs of my home only to find a big monkey sitting at my door. It was merrily eating carrot. I stopped two steps from it and casually tried to make it go away by showing it the umbrella I was carrying. It didn’t budge and in turn showed its teeth while growling. I got my sign and gave it more time to finish its snack. After 20 minutes or so it was gone. Phew!

The heavy rains make me so happy. They always do. I still remember seeing heavy rain through the window while travelling to Vijayanagar from my old office. It used to be a long, cold and wet journey but the rain gave me peace. I can forget everything and just enjoy the rains. The heated earth which gets ready to burst every summer is cooled by the showers. People find ways to indulge in rains. Some like chai and pakora and other binge on pani-puri or other spicy snacks. For me it is masala chai or hot filter coffee with a nice book. And me all wrapped up in a huge blanket and sitting near a window or on a window sill, reading, enjoying the tip-tip sound of the rain and sipping the divine drink.

Rains bring back fond memories from every stage of my life. I still remember us playing in the mud and dirt and not worrying about the slush getting onto the school uniform, me worrying later about the school uniform and school shoes not drying up in time. When we lived in our old tile roofed house, we used to worry about finding all the places that leaked and placing buckets/vessels before the house flooded. Sleeping on a damp bed because it suddenly started raining in the night and dad was a bit late in waking up and making necessary arrangement for the leaking water redirection. Coming to the new house which doesn’t leak and starting to enjoy the showers in its true form. Sitting on front porch with hot milk and playing antakshari. Getting bone wet while returning from college because I forgot to carry umbrella and that didn’t hinder me from walking all the way because the house was close to college.
And more. So many more memories associated with rains.

Now the only place I am reminded of during rains is Coorg. We like to go there all the time, especially so during rains because it simply enhances the beauty of nature, pure untouched virgin nature. I like it far away from bustling crowds, stifling traffic and dirty slush. And the loads of coffee that we get to drink, given the chilling weather. It turns misty when it gets too cold and I love the cold. Rains make me romantic and poetic. It brings out the artist in me. I want to do all those things that I thought I wouldn’t have time for. I want to plant new plants, cook new stuff and basically be happy and full of life.

I can go on and on about rains, but all I wanted to say to the rains is: please don’t stop. Not yet at least. Let the earth completely cool down and the people relax.

11 thoughts on “Rain rain don’t go away

  1. Pure LOL moment how you described your ‘encounter’ with the monkey πŸ˜†

    The last time I was chilled to the bone while getting drenched in rain is god-knows-when…sigh..

    Love the way the huge green trees sway in rainy wind πŸ™‚

  2. your encounter with the monkey gave me the shivers!! OMG! I would’ve freaked!! πŸ˜€
    Let it keep raining! πŸ™‚
    I love the rains back home πŸ™‚

  3. Oh yes yes yes rain rain dont go away!! It was pure fun and amazed to watch the hailstones from offc.. everyone seemed to be excited!!

    LOL on the monkey part, once at mom’s house the monkeys entered the kitchen and fled away with 1 KG Riped mangoes.. sadly those were the first mangoes of the season!! πŸ™‚

  4. Hw I wish it cud rain here 😦 The sweltering heat is almost killing me 😦

    I hv got so used to monkey encounters like that now he he πŸ˜›

    Sorry, hd to cut ur call bcoz I ws on another skype call .. will call u tmrw πŸ™‚

    • I can imagine Hyd heat. Oh so you’ve become friends with monkeys now?
      I’ll be busy travelling today and the next two days too. Will call up once I get back on monday.

Share your thoughts

