The joys of healthy eating

So my dears, I finally got back into the groove. Thank heavens I did. A little late actually but never mind that. Late is better than never. Right?

Now, what does it mean that I am back? I am back to my radical and practical self in my mind and my new mind right now is busy being astonished at the amount of tummy fat increase over the couple of months. Don’t remind me of the discontinued challenge. Yes, me is very sad about it.

Let us leave all that old and sad stories behind, shall we? And proceed towards new beginnings. Where I get back to thinking health almost all the time in the day. It is also the time where I started drinking ragi-ambli. The age-old formula of strength and fitness. I’m sure the health gurus might be sniggering at my late discovery of it. Or, on second thoughts, the health gurus probably don’t even read this blog. Ha!

Ragi was incorporated in my diet since my childhood. We used to have ragi-mudde and ragi-rotti. But that was all. And it gets boring after a point eating those two things. Especially when ragi doesn’t taste all that great. But I love it and hence wanted more of it. Mudde and rotti are difficult to make and take up a lot of time. So I looked up for the malt and got a simple recipe which I have linked above. I made it and had the version with added curd and salt. And holy cow, it is DELICIOUS! Only, avoid drinking at night as you might get sore throat due to curd.

Now, I have included it in my diet as a fitness drink. Only, I make it so thick I need to use spoon to eat it πŸ™‚ You can add butter milk and make it thin and drinkable.

Now the other healthy eating plans that I have are to eggs, whole grains, fruits and vegetables. And I’m quite happy to say that I enjoy eating all of them and can convert them into different forms for variety.

Eggs: boiled, omelet, vegetable omelet, spinach omelet, scrambled, egg sandwich, bread omelet.

Whole grains (grams): soaked and salted, soaked and mixed with vegetables with salt and pepper, soaked and tempered, boiled with salt. Mixed pulses masala idlis, mixed pulses masala dosa.

Vegetables: Half cooked/stir fried with chapati, raw salad, pulav/biryani with lots of veggies and less spice, vegetable fried rice.

Fruits: least one fruit a day and mostly 3 fruit juices a week.

I am so happy to get back. Finally. And I am pretty sure I am going to stay right here, on track. Because I need that tummy tucked in by November. Also trust me, eating healthy elevates your mood and keeps your happy. Also increased metabolism drives your day.

And here is the food pyramid everybody should know about.Β And hey exercise mat, feels good to meet you again.

 

13 thoughts on “The joys of healthy eating

  1. I have never heard of this Ragi thingy before. Is it full of proteins?
    Good that you are back on track. I also have to get back. I am completely missing my jogging routine to laziness.

    • Ragi is millet. Yes it is full of proteins and we give it to infants too because it gives loads of strength.
      Now get off your lazy bum and start jogging πŸ™‚

    • Take my word for it. It is delicious for a fitness food. If you know what I mean. Don’t expect it to taste like lassi though πŸ˜› Good luck with your weight reduction.

  2. ooh!! you get the Ragi-ambli mix also kane.. try it.
    my sis used to drink it regulary πŸ™‚
    I love ragi-mudde! but, I make it very infrequently because its tough to make and stirring it is a big headache! πŸ˜€

    good to see you back on your schedule! Me too back to half my schedule as well!! πŸ˜€

    • I don’t trust the ready made stuff. My mom gets me the Ragi flour I use it πŸ™‚ Lets see what all health benefits I get. πŸ˜‰
      Good to hear about your getting back. I’m sure you’ll be up to speed in no time.

  3. I started a similar diet aka healthy eating with lots of proteins + veggies + fruits a couple of weeks back. And yes, it feels great! You can also try making brown rice with black beans and salad. It’s nothing short of yumm!

Share your thoughts

