Green chutney and vegetable sandwich (on skillet)

I’m a huge snacker these days. I usually eat masala tomato slices in the evenings or prepare churmuri. Then I got bored of all of the snacks I regularly make. So, I tried out this sandwich, which is not only quick and easy to make but is delicious. Skip the cheese and minimize the butter and it becomes healthy too. Also easily done for breakfast or lunch for people who have no time for elaborate meals.

Chutney:

1 cup mint leaves

1 cup coriander leaves

2-3 chillies (alter according to required hotness)

1 tsp chopped ginger

2-3 pepper corn

salt to taste

1 tbsp lemon juice (can add tamarind instead)

For sandwich:

Bread slices (I used brown bread)

Butter at room temperature

Cheese (I used Amul)

Vegetables of your choice (I used onion, capsicum and carrot)

Method:

1. Grind all the ingredients mentioned for chutney with very little water. If the chutney is too runny, it will make the bread soggy.

Green chutney

2. Butter two bread slice only one side.

3. Apply chutney to the remaining side of one  of the bread.

4. Sprinkle very little salt

5. Place veggies on the chutney and grate the cheese.

Open sandwich

6. Place the other bread non-buttered side up on the veggies.

7. Press on the bread so veggies don’t get out when you lift it.

8. Heat skillet on stove and keep to medium heat.

9. Place the sandwich on the skillet, buttered side down.

Toast

10. Once that side gets crispy, apply butter on top of the sandwich and change sides.

11. Press down using a wide spoon (I used the one that I use to make dosas).

12. Make sure both sides are crispy and then take it out on a plate.

13. Cut diagonally and serve hot with tomato ketchup.

Veg sandwich

PS: Sorry for the poor quality images. I had only my mobile phone handy and this was made in a hurry, like all other dishes 😀

Share your thoughts

